Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

One of us at the Monday demo raved about this book: Chris Hedges & Joe Sacco on Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

Monroe County Library Listing

(305.56 HED available in multiple branches)
Author Hedges, Chris.
Title Days of destruction, days of revolt /
Publisher New York : Nation Books, c2012.
Paging xv, 302 p. : ill ; 27 cm.
Notes Includes bibliographical references (p. 287-291) and index.
Summary “In the vein of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Pulitzer Prize winner and bestselling author Chris Hedges and American Book Award winning cartoonist Joe Sacco bring us a searing on-the-ground report on the crisis gripping underclass America and crime-ridden poverty enclaves–in prisons, urban slums, and rural communities–metastasizing around the nation”– Provided by publisher.
Two years ago, Pulitzer Prize winner Chris Hedges and award-winning cartoonist and journalist Joe Sacco set out to take a look at the sacrifice zones, areas that have been offered up for exploitation in the name of profit, progress, and technological advancement. They wanted to show in words and drawings what life looks like in places where the marketplace rules without constraints, where human beings and the natural world are used and then discarded to maximize earnings. The book starts in the western plains, where Native Americans were sacrificed for land and empire. It moves to the old manufacturing centers and coal fields that fueled the Industrial Revolution, but now lie in decay. It follows the steady downward spiral of American labor into the nation’s produce fields and ends in Zuccotti Park where a new generation is revolting against a corporate state that has handed the young an economic, political, cultural, and environmental catastrophe.–From publisher description.
Contents Days of theft : Pine Ridge, South Dakota — Days of siege : Camden, New Jersey — Days of devastation : Welch, West Virginia — Days of slavery : Immokalee, Florida — Days of revolt : Liberty Square, New York City.
Subjects Poor United States.
Social classes United States.
Crime United States.
United States Social conditions 20th century.
Other Names Sacco, Joe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *